Credit Card Travel Insurance in Canada: What Card Coverage Actually Pays
This spoke sits under best credit cards in Canada. The standalone product, and why a provincial health plan is not the ceiling, is travel medical insurance. The three premium cards people confuse with a full policy are compared in premium credit cards. None of this is a certificate. Read the one in your welcome kit before you fly.
- Emergency medical, trip cancellation, trip interruption, and baggage are different benefits with different caps.
- Age and trip length cut the medical benefit off even when the dollar limit looks enormous. A $5 million cap that lasts 15 days does not cover day 16.
- Figures below are from issuer pages and TD benefit guides reviewed in September 2026. If a cell is not a number, that page did not state one clearly enough to quote.
- A card benefit is not a substitute for reading the stability rules on a pre-existing condition. Those rules live in the certificate, and this page does not restate them from memory.
- Paying with the card is often a condition of the trip benefits. Medical coverage can apply to the cardholder and family members named in the certificate even when the flight was not bought on the card. Confirm which one you have.
What does the card actually pay?
Marketing tiles say “travel insurance.” The certificate says who, for how many days, for which dollars, and which conditions are excluded. The table uses the issuer’s own words where a number was on the page. It is not a ranking, and it is not every Canadian card.
| Card and source | Emergency medical | Cancellation and interruption | Other trip benefits the page stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Privilege. Product page, and the privilege benefit-coverages guide for the day count. | Up to $5 million for the first 31 days. If you or your spouse is 65 or older, the product page says the first 4 days. The certificate says 31 consecutive days at 64 and under, and 4 consecutive days at 65 or older. | Cancellation up to $2,500 per insured person, maximum $5,000 for all insured persons. Interruption up to $5,000 per insured person, maximum $25,000 for all insured persons on the same trip. | Flight or trip delay more than 4 hours, up to $1,000. Delayed baggage over 4 hours, up to $1,000. Lost baggage up to $2,500 per insured person. Common-carrier accident up to $500,000. Auto rental collision or loss damage up to 48 consecutive days. Hotel or motel burglary up to $2,500. |
| TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite. Benefit-coverages guide for the day count. The $2 million figure is on TD’s Quebec product page, not in the certificate excerpt reviewed here. | The guide covers the first 21 consecutive days if you are 64 or under, and the first 4 consecutive days if you are 65 or older. TD’s Quebec product page states up to $2 million for the first 21 days, and 4 days if you or your spouse is 65 or older. Confirm the dollar cap on the certificate for your province. | On the Quebec product page: cancellation up to $1,500 per insured person, maximum $5,000 for everyone. Interruption up to $5,000 per insured person, maximum $25,000. | The guide says you can ask the administrator, at 1-866-374-1129, to extend coverage if the trip is longer than 21 days or 4 days. Top-up terms are the administrator’s, not this page’s. |
| The Platinum Card from American Express. Product page. | Up to $5,000,000 for eligible emergency medical expenses if you are under 65, for the first 15 consecutive days outside your province or territory. The page labels the benefit “for under age 65” and, in the section reviewed, does not state a day count for cardmembers 65 or older. | Cancellation up to $2,500 per insured person, maximum $5,000 combined. Interruption up to $2,500 per insured person, maximum $6,000 combined. | Flight delay of 4 hours or more, up to $1,000 combined with baggage-delay insurance. Baggage delay of 6 hours or more, same combined $1,000. Lost or stolen baggage up to $1,000 per trip for all insured persons combined. Car rental theft and damage on a vehicle with an MSRP up to $85,000, rentals of 48 days or less, if you charge the full rental and decline the rental company’s waiver. Travel accident insurance up to $500,000. Foreign-currency conversion commission 2.5 percent, stated in the page’s own FAQ. |
| American Express Aeroplan cards. Amex’s compare-cards page. Column amounts are quoted only where the table printed a number for that card. | The insurance section describes coverage up to $5,000,000 if you are under 65, for the first 15 consecutive days. The public table did not print a separate dollar cap in each card’s column. Treat that sentence as the page’s description, then read the certificate for the card you hold. | The same section describes cancellation up to $1,500 per insured person, maximum $3,000 combined, and interruption up to $1,500 per insured person, maximum $6,000 combined. Those figures sit in the row description, not in a per-card column. | Flight delay: up to $500 on the Aeroplan Card, up to $1,000 on the Aeroplan Reserve and the Business Reserve. Lost or stolen baggage: $500, $1,000, and $1,000 in that same column order. The car-rental row describes an MSRP up to $85,000 and rentals of 48 days or less, and it says to decline the rental company’s damage waiver. |
Table as of September 2026. Amex marks every insurance line as subject to the certificate. TD says the same and points cardholders at a travel-insurance verification tool. A blog table is the map. The certificate is the contract. Cobalt’s medical terms are not in this table because this review did not open a Cobalt certificate that stated a day count and a dollar cap clearly enough to quote. If Cobalt is the card in your wallet, open its certificate. Do not borrow the Platinum row.
Which trips make a card benefit the wrong product?
Privilege’s 31-day window still covers day 20. Infinite’s 21-day window still covers day 20 and stops the next day. Platinum’s 15-day window has already stopped. None of that math is a claim approval. A pre-existing condition that fails the certificate’s stability test can void the medical benefit on day one. The illustration only shows the day counts the issuers printed.
$5 million and 15 days is a short policy with a large ceiling. A hospital stay that starts on day 16 is outside the window the Platinum page describes. TD’s guides tell you to buy the extra days from the administrator before you are past the cap. Buying them after you are already sick is a different product, and it may not be offered.
Trip cancellation pays non-refundable prepaid arrangements if you cancel for a covered reason. It does not pay because you changed your mind. Interruption pays when a covered reason cuts the trip short. Baggage delay pays for essentials after a stated number of hours, and on the Platinum page that cap is combined with the flight-delay cap, so you do not get $1,000 twice. Auto rental coverage, where the page states it, requires you to charge the rental and decline the agency’s waiver. Accepting the waiver and also expecting the card to pay is how claims get refused.
The annual fee is the price of the whole card, not a premium you can compare one-for-one with a standalone medical policy unless you would have paid that fee anyway. Run the fee through the rewards calculator with the earn rates you copied from the issuer, and decide whether the certificate is a reason to keep the card or a reason to buy a policy and a cheaper card. The fee test is annual fee versus no fee.
Frequently asked questions
Does my provincial health plan cover me outside Canada?
Not in any way you should plan a hospital around. The travel-medical guide on this site is the longer version: provincial coverage outside Canada is limited, and the policy or the certificate is the plan. This page does not quote a provincial per-diem. Those rates move. Check the ministry page for the year you travel.
I am 66. Which row applies?
On the TD pages reviewed, 65 is the cut. Privilege’s product page says 4 days if you or your spouse is 65 or older, against 31 days otherwise. Infinite’s guide says 4 days at 65 or older, against 21 days at 64 or under. Platinum’s medical sentence is written for cardmembers under 65. Do not assume the under-65 day count still applies. Open the certificate, and price a standalone policy for the rest of the trip.
Do I have to charge the flight to the card?
For several trip benefits, yes. Platinum’s flight-delay, baggage, and travel-accident lines say the tickets have to be charged to the card. The car-rental line says the full rental has to be charged to the card. Medical eligibility is defined in the certificate and is not the same sentence. Read the “who is insured” section instead of assuming the medical benefit follows the ticket.
Is a $5 million limit better than a $2 million limit?
Only inside the days you are actually covered, and only for expenses the certificate calls eligible. A larger ceiling does not fix a 4-day window, a stability exclusion, or a trip that started before the coverage period. Compare the day count and the exclusion list first. Compare the dollar cap second.
Can I rely on this table at the airport?
No. Issuers change certificates without updating a blog. TD tells you to use its verification tool. Amex tells you to read the certificate, and Quebec residents to read the insurance summary. If the trip is the expensive one, get the day count in writing from the certificate in force on your departure date.
What if the card is in my spouse’s name?
Coverage often follows the insured person defined in the certificate, which may include a spouse and dependent children, and it may not include a travelling companion who is neither. The Privilege page talks about you and your spouse for the age test. It does not, in the sentences quoted here, insure an unrelated friend. Check the definition before you split a booking.
Sources
- TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Privilege
- TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Privilege benefit coverages guide (PDF)
- TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite benefit coverages guide (PDF)
- TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite, Quebec product page
- The Platinum Card, American Express Canada
- American Express: compare Aeroplan cards
- Travel medical insurance
The certificate is the product. The metal card is the packaging.
If you would have bought a policy anyway, do not count the card’s medical line as a reason to pay a premium fee. The tax side of a year of travel and work is the 2026 tax guide.
Get the 2026 Tax Guide — $49 CAD

