Canadian Optimizer Logo

Best No-Fee Chequing Accounts in Canada (2026)

By Andrew CarrothersPublished September 202610 min read
A no-fee chequing account is a $0 monthly fee you will still have in month six, plus a way to pay rent and get cash. On the pages reviewed on 27 September 2026, Simplii, EQ Bank, and Wealthsimple each say they do not charge a monthly account fee. They do not offer the same ATM access, the same interest, or the same deposit-insurance structure. There is no single winner.
Best No-Fee Chequing Accounts in Canada (2026)

Where the balance that is not this month’s bills should sit is the cash management guide. The interest rate on savings, including EQ’s bonus and its base, is ongoing savings rates versus promos. Who actually insures the dollar is CDIC coverage. The transfer that keeps the chequing account thin is the cash-flow system.

Key takeaways:
  • Simplii’s no-fee chequing page says there is no monthly fee, unlimited debit purchases, bill payments, and withdrawals, and free access to over 3,400 CIBC ATMs. Interac e-Transfer is described as free.
  • EQ’s Personal Account: no monthly fee, no minimum balance, free Interac e-Transfers, free bill payments. No cheques, no cash deposits, no bank drafts. Base interest 1.00%, or 2.75% with at least $2,000 a month of qualifying pay deposits, effective 16 September 2026.
  • Wealthsimple chequing: $0 monthly fee, $0 foreign-transaction fee on its card, ATM-provider fees reimbursed. Posted interest is 1.25%, 1.75%, or 2.25% by asset tier. Wealthsimple says it is not a CDIC member.
  • Simplii charges $4.97 in a month you use overdraft, plus 19% interest on the overdrawn balance. EQ says it does not charge overdraft fees. Wealthsimple’s page describes overdraft as no fee plus interest from 3.95%.
  • Tangerine’s rates index calls its chequing account no-monthly-fee. The numeric interest rate did not render in the fetch. It is not in the table below.

Choose Simplii if… you want CIBC ATMs and a conventional debit account, and you will confirm the CDIC member yourself. Choose EQ if… your pay already qualifies for the 2.75% bonus and you can live without cheques, cash deposits, and drafts. Choose Wealthsimple if… you want the prepaid card, no foreign-transaction fee from Wealthsimple, and you have read the trust-and-CDIC paragraph instead of assuming it is a bank.

What did each issuer actually say?

No-fee chequing features taken from issuer pages reviewed on 27 September 2026. Blank means the page did not state it in a way this article will repeat. Wealthsimple’s comparison chart is dated by Wealthsimple as collected 11 June 2026; product terms below are from the page text reviewed in September.
Simplii No Fee Chequing EQ Bank Personal Account Wealthsimple chequing
Monthly account fee None, on Simplii’s description None, and no minimum balance $0, and no minimum balance
Everyday transfers Unlimited debit, bill payments, and withdrawals. Interac e-Transfer described as free. Free Interac e-Transfers and bill payments. EFT to a linked account up to $30,000 per transaction, arriving in two to three business days. No Interac e-Transfer fee, on its description. Outgoing domestic wire: a flat $15. Incoming wires: $0.
Cash access Free access to over 3,400 CIBC ATMs No fee at Canadian ATMs. EQ reimburses Canadian ATM-provider fees up to $5 a withdrawal, up to five times a month. You cannot deposit cash. No Wealthsimple ATM fee. Provider fees reimbursed, including outside Canada, on the page’s wording.
Interest Tiers are on the page. The percentages did not render. Not quoted here. 1.00%, or 2.75% with qualifying pay deposits of at least $2,000 a month. Effective 16 September 2026. Core 1.25% under $100,000 in assets. Premium 1.75% above $100,000. Generation 2.25% at $500,000 or more. Core and Premium can add 0.5 point with a $2,000 direct deposit in 30 days, not above 2.25%.
Cheques and drafts Not stated in the section reviewed No cheques and no bank drafts. EQ lists both under “not right for you.” A chequebook is free if your pay is direct-deposited. Cheque deposits by photo are described as about six business days. Bank drafts can be ordered in the app.
Overdraft $4.97 in a month you use it, plus 19% interest. Limits up to $5,000 if you qualify. EQ says it does not charge overdraft fees Described as no fee, with interest from 3.95%
Who holds the deposit Confirm the CDIC member on CDIC’s list. ATM access to CIBC is not that sentence. Equitable Bank, a CDIC member. EQ Bank is a trade name. Balances under both names aggregate. Wealthsimple says it is not a CDIC member. Chequing funds are held in trust at member institutions. Its page describes combined coverage up to $1 million.
New-client offer on the page $300 and a $50 Skip gift card for a new client who direct-deposits at least $100 for three straight months. Confirm it is still open. The interest bonus is for new and existing customers who meet the deposit test. It is not a one-time cash bonus. No cash bonus was stated in the section reviewed

Table as of 27 September 2026. A welcome bonus is not a reason to pick an account you will not use. Simplii also describes a $125 referral for the person who invites a friend, and $50 for the friend. Read the conditions. A bonus you miss because the direct deposit was $90 is a bonus you did not get.

Which missing feature actually costs you?

Monthly fees are the easy comparison, and on these three pages they are zero. The costs that remain are the things the account will not do.

  • Cash and cheques. EQ will not take a cash deposit and will not give you cheques or a draft. If your landlord, your daycare, or your lawyer still wants one of those, EQ is the wrong everyday account. Keep Simplii, or Wealthsimple’s chequebook once pay is deposited there, for that job. The rest of the balance can still earn EQ’s savings rate if you qualify.
  • Foreign purchases. Wealthsimple says it charges no foreign-transaction fee, and that the card network can still apply a conversion rate. A big-bank debit card often does charge a markup. This page does not copy a percentage Wealthsimple used to describe other banks. The credit-card version of the same question is no-foreign-transaction-fee cards.
  • Overdraft as a habit. Simplii’s 19% plus $4.97 in a month you dip is a debt product. EQ saying it does not charge an overdraft fee is not a reason to spend money you do not have. The comparison with investing, once you are carrying a balance, is debt payoff versus investing.
  • A rate you will not qualify for. EQ at 1.00% without the pay deposit can lose to Wealthsimple Core at 1.25%. EQ at 2.75% with the deposit can beat both. Write the rate you will earn, not the rate in the headline. The full savings table is the HISA post.
Do not keep the emergency fund in the spending account:

Chequing is where the month’s bills clear. The pile you hope not to spend is a separate transfer, on payday, in the automation stack. EQ lets you open up to eight accounts for that split. Two logins at two members is also how you avoid having every dollar at the institution that just failed. Coverage details are the CDIC guide. The size of the second pile is the emergency-fund guide.

What about the account you already pay for?

Wealthsimple’s own chart, collected as of 11 June 2026, describes traditional-bank monthly fees as “up to $30” and digital banks as “up to $22.” Those are Wealthsimple’s figures about other institutions, not fee schedules this article re-fetched from those banks. Before you switch, open your own fee schedule and circle the monthly plan, the extra e-Transfer charges, and the ATM charges you actually paid last quarter. The habit of finding those lines is the fixed-cost audit. A $0 account that makes you keep a $16 package “for the branch” has not saved the $16.

Points and cash back on spending belong on a credit card you pay in full, not on the deposit account. The card side is best credit cards and the annual-fee test. A prepaid card, which is what Wealthsimple says its Visa is, does not build a credit file. Simplii’s page points at a separate cash-back credit card. Do not confuse the chequing account with that card.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best no-fee chequing account in Canada in 2026?

The one whose missing feature you will not hit. Simplii is the ATM account, with a new-client bonus you must still qualify for. EQ is the interest account if your pay clears $2,000 a month and you do not need cheques or cash deposits. Wealthsimple is the card-and-FX account if you accept that the firm is not itself a CDIC member. Tangerine also describes a no-monthly-fee chequing account. Its rate did not render here, so it is not ranked.

Is EQ Bank a chequing account?

EQ calls the Personal Account everyday banking: direct deposit, pre-authorized debits, bill payments, and Interac e-Transfers, with no monthly fee. It also says the account is not right for you if you want cheques, drafts, or in-branch service, and you cannot deposit cash. Functionally it replaces chequing for people who live inside those limits. It does not replace a branch account for people who do not.

Does Wealthsimple chequing have CDIC insurance?

Wealthsimple says no, not in its own name. It says the balance is held in trust at CDIC members, up to ten of them, and describes combined protection up to $1 million. Joint balances, it says, are registered under the primary holder. That is a different structure from a bank account in your name at a member. Read the current disclosure beside the CDIC guide before you treat the accounts as interchangeable.

Are Interac e-Transfers free at these three?

Each page reviewed says yes: Simplii describes free e-Transfers, EQ says it does not charge to send or receive them, and Wealthsimple says it does not charge an e-Transfer fee. Limits still exist. EQ notes that the receiving bank may cap what you can collect in a day. A “free” transfer you have to split across three days is still free. It is not instant for a large down payment.

Should I switch for a welcome bonus?

Only after the account is one you would keep once the bonus is paid. Simplii’s page offers $300 plus a $50 Skip gift card if you are a new client and you direct-deposit at least $100 for three consecutive months. If the offer has ended by the time you apply, the bonus is zero. The monthly fee you stop paying a former bank is the durable number. Confirm that fee on your own statement.

Can two partners use one no-fee account?

EQ offers a joint account with the same 1.00% and 2.75% rate split as the personal account, on the 16 September 2026 rates page. How you split visibility and bills is not a banking feature. It is the couples money system. A joint login does not replace a written rule for who moves the surplus to savings on payday.

Sources

A $0 fee is not a savings plan.

What you do with the fee you stopped paying is a tax and savings question. The 2026 tax guide is the return side, not a bank offer.

Get the 2026 Tax Guide — $49 CAD
Canadian Cash Management Guide: HISAs, GICs, Cash ETFs, and T-Bills
Budgeting & Saving

Canadian Cash Management Guide: HISAs, GICs, Cash ETFs, and T-Bills

In September 2026 the Bank of Canada target is 2.25%. Park cash in a deposit, a GIC, or a cash ETF only after you know the date you need it.

Andrew Carrothers·2026-09-27
Best High-Interest Savings Accounts in Canada (2026): Ongoing Rates vs Promos
Budgeting & Saving

Best High-Interest Savings Accounts in Canada (2026): Ongoing Rates vs Promos

EQ Bank’s Personal Account pays 1.00%, or 2.75% with $2,000 of monthly pay deposits, effective 16 September 2026. A teaser that expires is a different product.

Andrew Carrothers·2026-09-27
CASH vs PSA vs CBIL: Canadian HISA and T-Bill ETFs Compared
Budgeting & Saving

CASH vs PSA vs CBIL: Canadian HISA and T-Bill ETFs Compared

As of late September 2026, CASH’s annualized distribution yield is 2.02% and CBIL’s is 2.15%. PSA’s page shows a 2.18% net yield. None is CDIC-insured.

Andrew Carrothers·2026-09-27